Car springs disappointment

DSC_0590I prepared the Blue Prado 4×4 Land Cruiser just over two years ago and due to several personal set backs we had to delay the 4×4 Challenge Trip. I approached Footloose 4×4 to do all the preparation work and requested OME (Old Man Emu) springs and shocks, specifically requesting OME and the largest loading rear springs possible for the 90 series Toyota Land Cruiser. I have bought OME’s in the past and know of their quality and long guarantee.
Anyhow, after picking the car up I was told that a Dobson shock & springs system was applied to the 4×4 and was told that they were just as good.
What that did not say was that is was only guaranteed for 2 years and not 5 years like the OME’s that I requested. So when I called weeks before leaving saying that the back-end was hanging down without any load and wanted it replaced, Footloose 4×4 said it was a few weeks passed the Dobson guarantee and that they would have to talk to Dobson. I also explained that the car had never left the UK or seen any major overland action and that the fault was with the quality of the product.

Having spent a lot of money preparing two vehicles with Footloose 4×4, I have still heard nothing from them regarding this and we’ve subsequently left with my family on the long trip to Johannesburg with the back hanging further down!

A good way to lose a customer and I doubt I’ll ever hear anything regarding this matter from Footloose 4×4 and their Dobson suppliers again. Be aware!

About familyinafrica

Passionate about travelling, nature, raising awareness for wildlife conservation projects and teaching my fellow man about travelling community health.
This entry was posted in Toyota Land Cruisers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Car springs disappointment

  1. Billy says:

    How disappointing of Footloose what really gets me is you asked for a product and they convinced you to take Dobsons over OME if they had any go in them and if it was me I would fly into Istanbul with the OME and change it for the customer Shame on you Footloose disgrace

    • Yes was rubbish, but I only found about the Dobson springs/shocks when I picked up the vehicle from footloose and was going through the payment invoice. They said they were as good, but was never told that they only had a two year guarantee, unlike the OME’s which I know and have used with their standard five year guarantee. You right they should send me a couple of the new rear heavy load OME springs to make up for the service!

Leave a Reply

